HOME > Research > Information Search / Journal Recommendation > How to use

Information Search / Journal Recommendation

Information search service

It is a service that searches and provides research data on the subject or quantitative trend for the preparation of academic journal papers or R&D project plans. (Excluding information search for writing theses/dissertations)
 

Service target

  • KU Medicine full-time faculty, clinical faculty, research faculty
 

How to request / How long it takes

  • Library homepage login → Research → Research Support Service → Information Search / Journal Recommendation → Information Search & Journal Recommendation Request and Status List → Information Search Request
  • When applying, fill out the subject search form(Download)or trend search form (Download )and upload it as an attachment.
  • Duration : 2-3 days (the period may be added depending on the case.)
 

Process / 제공내용

  • Review the application form to establish a search strategy → Pilot search → Search keywords feedback → Final search → Search result (bibliography and abstract) Endnote library and search formula provided
  • Application Form Items: Core research question (PICO)*, research design type, search publication type, search limit, search target DB
  •  * PICO = Population/Patients/Problem, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome
 

Search resources

  • Basic : PubMed / Embase / Cochrane Library / KoreaMed
  • Add : CINAHL (EBSCO) / Kmbase / Web of Science / Scopus
  • Expansion : NTIS / BCC Research Market Trend Report / SciVal / InCites / Whips(WIPSON) Patent Search
 

See library’s instruction guides for searching method

  • The 1st Research Enhancement Workshop – “Use of Database for Systematic Review Search and Strategy for Submitting Journals” Educational Materials [URL] (Login required)
  • The 3rd Research Enhancement Workshop – “A to Z for writing the journal article” educational material [URL] (Login required)
  • Frequently Used Resources [URL] : Click Guide by each resource (Login required)
 

Contact Us

Journal Recommendation Service

It is a service that provides suitable candidate journal information prior to submission by integrating the recommendation function of publishers, journal analysis solution, and search results of major scholary databases.
※ Support for journal selection guide for new researchers who lack journal information in the field, and researchers who need to search the journal to submit papers on multidisciplinary or convergence topics
 

Service target

  • KU Medicine full-time faculty, clinical faculty, research faculty
 

How to request / How long it takes

  • Library homepage login → Research → Research Support Service → Information Search / Journal Recommendation → Journal recommendation Request
  • On the journal recommendation application page, enter the article title, author keywords, and attach the abstract file.
  • You can attach the entire manuscript (formatted by EndNote) for using the EndNote Manuscript Matcher function.
  • Duration : 2-3 days
 

Output

  • Provides a list of top journals recommended frequently by integrating the results of multiple resources.
  • Information on top journals : ISSN, publisher, issues per year, acceptance rate, publication time, SCI(E) indexed, impact factor, author instructions site, etc.
  •  (Acceptance rate or publication time is limited to those provided by analytical resources)
  • Example the list of ouput (Download)
 

Resources for Analysis

  • Journal recommendation function for publishers and journal analysis solutions
  •  – Elsevier Journal finder
     – Springer Nature Journal suggester
     – S2Journal Journal Selection Service

  • Analysis of journals by keywords search
  •  – PubMed
     – SciVal (Source : Scopus)

  • Bibliographic management tool’s recommendation function
  •  – EndNote Web Manuscript Matcher (Source : Web of Science)
 

You can access the each site and use the recommended feature instantly.

Elsevier Journal finder
  • Enter the article title and abstract at the Elsevier Journal site
  • Provide Impact Factor, Review speed, Acceptance rate, Publication speed, etc.
Springer Nature Journal suggester
  • Enter the article title and abstract at the Springer Nature Journal site, and add the desired options
  • Provide Impact Factor, First decision speed, Acceptance rate, etc.
  • Guide to the BioMed Central (BMC) and SpringerOpen journals’ 15% discount on APC [Go to]
S2Journal Journal Selection Service
  • Enter the article title and abstract at the journal analysis solution, S2J site
  • SCI(E), ESCI, Medline, Scopus, KCI listing status, ISSN, publisher, Impact Factor, Publication time, etc.
  • On-campus only
EndNote Web Manuscript Matcher
  • Use after creating the personal account
  • Login → Match → Enter the article title and abstract.
  • And select the EndNote library including references (required the Sync Library from the desktop EndNote)
  • Also available on PC since EndNote X9 (no login required) : Create/select a references’ group and right-click of mouse → click Manuscript Matcher → click the search button after entering the article title and abstract
Wiley Journal Finder (Beta version)
(Currently Chrome only)
  • Enter the article title and abstract at the Wiley Journal site
  • Provide Editor, Impact Factor, JCR ranking by category, etc.
IEEE Publication Recommender
  • Enter the article title and abstract from the IEEE Journal/Conference site, and add the desired publication deadline (publishing schedule)
  • OA availability, Impact Factor, publication time, etc.
  • Sorting of recommended results (relevance/journal title/impact factor/publication time)
Web of Science Master Journal List Beta
  • Click Manuscript Matcher and enter article title and abstract
  • Publisher, SCIE/SSCI, etc., subject category, ISSN, etc.
  • You can filter in the recommendation result by OA, category, language, publication frequency, and JCR
  • Log in after creating an account to view recommended journal details (use the same account for WOS, JCR, EndNote Web, InCites)
  • Details : Impact Factor, OA journal publishing time/submission related information, peer review information

Other resources for selecting submission journals

InCites JCR
  • InCites JCR User Guide [Go To] (Login required)
  • Clarivate Analytics’ Training Materials [Go To]“Establishing a Strategy for Selecting a Submission Journal Using Journal Indicators”
Web of Science
InCites
  • Source : Web of Science
  • Create and use a personal account on or off campus (register with your @korea.ac.kr email address)
  • WoS keywords Search → Select InCites from ‘Export Options’ → Select Journals from ‘Explore InCites Data’ on InCites Site → Select the dataset exported from WoS → take a look the trends by journals
Scopus
SciVal
  • Source : Scopus
  • Create and use a personal account on or off campus (register with your @korea.ac.kr email address)
  • Log in → Trends module → Topics and Research Areas → Keyword/Topic/Journal search to create an analysis target group → take a look the trends by journals
SciRev
  • Provides information on the time for review and publishing by quantifying the experiences about submission from real authors
  • Your can get journal ratings and comments by authors and compare review/publishing time between subject fields

Contact Us